Parliament Website

Naval Personnel And Canal Zone General Service Medal

EDM number 537 in 2007-08, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 11/12/2007.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and Veterans.

That this House welcomes the decision by the Government to award military service personnel who served in the Suez Canal Zone between 1951 and 1954 a Canal Zone General Service Medal with clasp in recognition of their efforts; pays tribute to the 200,000 who served during this period in extremely difficult circumstances where 300 troops were killed; recognises that in order to qualify for the medal with clasp personnel had to serve a minimum of 30 days continuous service; recognises that while this is appropriate for Army and Air Force personnel this does not apply fairly to naval personnel who served considerable time in the zone without ever achieving 30 days continuous service; and calls on the Government to extend the medal to naval personnel who achieved 30 days aggregated service in the canal zone during this period.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Lindsay Hoyle11/12/2007ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby11/12/2007Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Nigel Evans11/12/2007Ribble ValleyConservativeSeconded
Ashok Kumar11/12/2007Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSeconded
Bob Spink11/12/2007Castle PointConservativeSeconded
Bob Russell11/12/2007ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ann Winterton12/12/2007CongletonConservativeSigned
John Leech12/12/2007Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Nicholas Winterton12/12/2007MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis12/12/2007Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Taylor12/12/2007North West LeicestershireLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley12/12/2007Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mike Hancock12/12/2007Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George12/12/2007St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton12/12/2007GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell12/12/2007Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell12/12/2007East LondonderryDUPSigned
Colin Breed12/12/2007South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell12/12/2007Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nick Harvey12/12/2007North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson12/12/2007Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Greg Pope12/12/2007HyndburnLabourSigned
Ann Cryer12/12/2007KeighleyLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn13/12/2007Islington NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore13/12/2007HendonLabourSigned
Alan Meale13/12/2007MansfieldLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins13/12/2007TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins13/12/2007Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Heyes13/12/2007Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden17/12/2007Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Betty Williams17/12/2007ConwyLabourSigned
Doug Naysmith18/12/2007Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Roger Williams18/12/2007Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma18/12/2007Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Janet Dean07/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/01/2008Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Bill Etherington17/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
John Hemming17/01/2008Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson30/01/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley05/02/2008Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell26/02/2008RomfordConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.