Parliament Website

Rhianna Hardie And Safe Water Tanks

EDM number 718 in 2007-08, proposed by Jeremy Browne on 17/01/2008.
Categorised under the topics of Housing, Industrial health and safety and Water.

That this House notes the verdict of the inquest into the death of 18 month old Rhianna Hardie, who was killed in her Taunton council home by boiling water seeping through the ceiling from a faulty water tank system in 2006; condemns the decision of the Health and Safety Executive not to issue safety warnings regarding faulty water tanks in council houses after the death of Sharon Minister in Penzance in 2002 in similar circumstances; recognises that the British Standard implemented since 2004 has increased safety by requiring all newly fitted thermostats in council housing to have a failsafe in the event of it becoming faulty; deeply regrets that the British Standard was not required to be retrospectively implemented and recognises that such an action could have prevented Rhianna's death in 2006; and calls on the Government to legislate to make the retrospective implementation of the British Standard mandatory in all council houses, thereby ensuring that such a tragedy is much less likely to happen again.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs.

Jeremy Browne17/01/2008TauntonLiberal DemocratProposed
Peter Bottomley17/01/2008Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lee Scott21/01/2008Ilford NorthConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/01/2008Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones21/01/2008Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice21/01/2008PendleLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan21/01/2008FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech21/01/2008Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson21/01/2008North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Gregory Campbell22/01/2008East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton22/01/2008GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore22/01/2008HendonLabourSigned
Mark Williams22/01/2008CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson23/01/2008Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/01/2008Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell23/01/2008Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/01/2008BurtonLabourSigned
David Heyes28/01/2008Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Ann Cryer28/01/2008KeighleyLabourSigned
Betty Williams28/01/2008ConwyLabourSigned
Hywel Williams28/01/2008CaernarfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Anderson28/01/2008BlaydonLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins29/01/2008TamworthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara29/01/2008Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington29/01/2008Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell30/01/2008Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Albert Owen30/01/2008Ynys MLabourSigned
Rudi Vis30/01/2008Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Phil Willis30/01/2008Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Willie Rennie05/02/2008Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heath19/02/2008Somerton & FromeLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson20/02/2008East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.