Parliament Website

Equality And Human Rights Commission Helpline

EDM number 1119 in 2008-09, proposed by John McDonnell on 17/03/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Human rights.

That this House notes with concern the Equality and Human Rights Commission's proposal to cut 50 posts from the Helpline Advice Service and to close down its Manchester helpline team; believes that the decision is ill-timed with the number of calls to the Equality and Human Rights Commission helpline increasing due to the recession; further notes with concern that women, people from black and minority ethnic backgrounds, disabled people and carers will be particularly disadvantaged by the decision; and therefore calls on the Equality and Human Rights Commission to review its plans and to do more to promote the service so that those people already at a disadvantage are not further disadvantaged by such inopportune cutbacks.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

John McDonnell17/03/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Julie Morgan17/03/2009Cardiff NorthLabourSeconded
John Leech17/03/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Dismore17/03/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Katy Clark17/03/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd17/03/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSeconded
Lynne Jones17/03/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew George18/03/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter18/03/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing18/03/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis18/03/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin18/03/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/03/2009GowerLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty18/03/2009Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes18/03/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson18/03/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle19/03/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Annette Brooke19/03/2009Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew19/03/2009StroudLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/03/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson20/03/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins23/03/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/03/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Ann Cryer23/03/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon23/03/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn23/03/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean24/03/2009BurtonLabourSigned
David Borrow24/03/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Linda Riordan25/03/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Nick Harvey26/03/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Gerald Kaufman26/03/2009Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd27/03/2009Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard30/03/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins31/03/2009TamworthLabourSigned
David Heyes21/04/2009Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/04/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Jo Swinson23/04/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh27/04/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar08/06/2009Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser13/10/2009DoverLabourSigned
Martin Linton13/10/2009BatterseaLabourSigned
Desmond Turner27/10/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.