Parliament Website

Scrappage Incentive Scheme

EDM number 1274 in 2008-09, proposed by Lindsay Hoyle on 01/04/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Manufacturing industries and Roads.

That this House calls on the Government to introduce a scrappage incentive scheme; notes that such a scheme, as supported by Unite and the Society of Motor Manufacturers and Traders, would incentivise owners of cars and vans over nine years old to scrap their vehicle in exchange for £2,000 towards a new or nearly-new car or van; recognises the success of similar schemes introduced in other European countries, particularly in Germany, which has boosted the new car market, increasing registrations by 21.5 per cent. in February 2009, giving the first year-on-year monthly rise since July 2008; believes that the potential increased value added tax revenue to Government would largely offset the cost of the scheme; further believes that this measure would be popular with the public, with 76 per cent. of consumers being in favour of its introduction; and calls on the Government to urgently introduce a scrappage scheme to give a much needed boost to the new vehicle market and automotive sector in the UK and, importantly, the 800,000 people that work in it.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Lindsay Hoyle01/04/2009ChorleyLabourProposed
David Crausby01/04/2009Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin01/04/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas01/04/2009DagenhamLabourSeconded
Alan Meale01/04/2009MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis01/04/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Bill Etherington01/04/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones02/04/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ann Cryer02/04/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew02/04/2009StroudLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara20/04/2009Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Bill Olner20/04/2009NuneatonLabourSigned
Mark Durkan20/04/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Neil Gerrard20/04/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Hamilton20/04/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock20/04/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Stewart20/04/2009EcclesLabourSigned
Robert Wareing20/04/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Linda Riordan20/04/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Jim Devine20/04/2009LivingstonLabourSigned
Bob Laxton20/04/2009Derby NorthLabourSigned
Joan Humble20/04/2009Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/04/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn20/04/2009JarrowLabourSigned
Dai Havard20/04/2009Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSigned
Geraldine Smith20/04/2009Morecambe and LunesdaleLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan20/04/2009Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Terry Rooney20/04/2009Bradford NorthLabourSigned
Greg Pope20/04/2009HyndburnLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd20/04/2009Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Harry Cohen21/04/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Richard Burden21/04/2009Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Eric Illsley22/04/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Chaytor22/04/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean22/04/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore22/04/2009HendonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis22/04/2009AberavonLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy23/04/2009GlenrothesLabourSigned
Michael Clapham24/04/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar08/06/2009Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Ian GibsonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.