Parliament Website

Strike Action At The Daily Record And Sunday Mail

EDM number 1346 in 2008-09, proposed by Katy Clark on 24/04/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations and Press.

That this House supports the three-day strike organised by National Union of Journalists members at the Glasgow-based Daily Record and Sunday Mail starting from 24 April 2009 in protest against owners Trinity Mirror's decision to enforce 24 compulsory redundancies as a part of a plan to merge the titles; recognises that Sunday Mail and Daily Record are iconic Scottish titles and make significant profits for Trinity Mirror; believes that these planned redundancies will undermine the quality of journalism provided by these newspapers; and therefore urges Trinity Mirror to abandon these cuts and instead enter into meaningful negotiations with the union representing staff in order to solve the challenges the titles face.

This motion has been signed by a total of 36 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Katy Clark24/04/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourProposed
Alistair Carmichael24/04/2009Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Lazarowicz24/04/2009Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSeconded
Tom Clarke24/04/2009Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSeconded
Pete Wishart24/04/2009Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySeconded
Jim Devine24/04/2009LivingstonLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/04/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/04/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Austin Mitchell24/04/2009Great GrimsbyLabourSigned
David Drew24/04/2009StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer27/04/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Ian Davidson27/04/2009Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin27/04/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing27/04/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Jim McGovern27/04/2009Dundee WestLabourSigned
Ian McCartney28/04/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
John Cummings28/04/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
John Leech28/04/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton29/04/2009GowerLabourSigned
Mark Hunter29/04/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins30/04/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd30/04/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Jeremy Corbyn30/04/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/05/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Hamilton05/05/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Betty Williams05/05/2009ConwyLabourSigned
David Anderson05/05/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson06/05/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis06/05/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne06/05/2009Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/05/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Eric Illsley01/06/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington01/06/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Mohammad Sarwar08/06/2009Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Jo Swinson08/07/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian GibsonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.