Parliament Website

Proposed Closure Of Stroke Unit At Ealing Hospital

EDM number 1525 in 2008-09, proposed by Virendra Kumar Sharma on 18/05/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House notes that Ealing Hospital's stroke unit is, according to an independent report, in the top 25 per cent. of stroke units in the country; further notes that 170 people died from stroke in Ealing in 2006-07, that in the same year there were approximately 1,600 admissions for stroke-related conditions with admissions from Southall wards running at twice the national levels; further notes that there are 4,000 people in Ealing who have had a stroke at some time; further notes that the proposed closure of the stroke unit in Ealing Hospital by Healthcare for London will mean that patients have to travel 30 minutes to Charing Cross or Northwick Park hospitals for initial treatment followed by treatment at either Hillingdon or West Middlesex hospitals that will mean further travel for family and friends of patients; is concerned that there is not sufficient capacity at these hospitals to meet the needs of stroke patients from Ealing and Southall and that other services at Ealing Hospital will suffer if the stroke unit is closed; and calls on Healthcare for London to review its proposals for Ealing Hospital's Stroke Unit and to keep it open.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs, 2 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Virendra Sharma18/05/2009Ealing, SouthallLabourProposed
Marsha Singh19/05/2009Bradford WestLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock19/05/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Keith Vaz19/05/2009Leicester EastLabourSeconded
Andy Slaughter19/05/2009Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSeconded
John McDonnell19/05/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Mohammad Sarwar19/05/2009Glasgow CentralLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn19/05/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Diane Abbott19/05/2009Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis20/05/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell20/05/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dai Davies21/05/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Ann Cryer01/06/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Hywel Francis01/06/2009AberavonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing02/06/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mark Hunter03/06/2009CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell10/06/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alan Simpson11/06/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan11/06/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Lynne JonesUnknownWithdrawn
Ian GibsonUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.