Parliament Website

Parliamentary Elections (Recall And Primaries) Bill

EDM number 2090 in 2008-09, proposed by Douglas Carswell on 19/10/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Elections and Electoral systems.

That this House is deeply concerned about the lack of public engagement in political and democratic affairs and the cynicism and distrust of the political system felt by many voters; notes that the recent Power Inquiry found that this is all too often borne out of a sense of disempowerment; believes that new measures are required to enable voters to participate more fully in the political system; welcomes the provisions of the Parliamentary Elections (Recall and Primaries) Bill tabled by a cross-party group of hon. Members that would permit voters to recall their hon. Member in certain specified circumstances and also require a returning officer to hold primary elections if requested to do so by any local political party with the support of at least 1,000 voters; further notes that the leaders of the three largest political parties have expressed support for the need for new initiatives to engage the public; and hopes that this Bill will become law expeditiously, believing that it will help restore faith in the political process.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Douglas Carswell19/10/2009HarwichConservativeProposed
David Drew20/10/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Jon Cruddas20/10/2009DagenhamLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams21/10/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Paul Flynn22/10/2009Newport WestLabourSeconded
Mark Fisher28/10/2009Stoke-on-Trent CentralLabourSeconded
Frank Field29/10/2009BirkenheadLabourSigned
Richard Taylor29/10/2009Wyre ForestIndependentSigned
Charlotte Atkins29/10/2009Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Alistair Carmichael29/10/2009Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Oaten29/10/2009WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell29/10/2009ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey02/11/2009VauxhallLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/11/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt02/11/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Mark Williams02/11/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
David Laws03/11/2009YeovilLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Williams03/11/2009Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Berry03/11/2009KingswoodLabourSigned
Alan Reid04/11/2009Argyll and ButeLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Rowen04/11/2009RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Doug Naysmith05/11/2009Bristol North WestLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell05/11/2009North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming05/11/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Charles Kennedy09/11/2009Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson09/11/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh10/11/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce10/11/2009GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis10/11/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Tim Farron10/11/2009Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
David Borrow11/11/2009South RibbleLabourSigned
Lynne Featherstone11/11/2009Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned
Susan Kramer11/11/2009Richmond ParkLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.