Parliament Website

Eurostar Cleaners

EDM number 2134 in 2008-09, proposed by Frank Dobson on 21/10/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Industrial relations, Racial discrimination and Railways.

That this House is appalled that workers employed by Carlisle Group on the Eurostar trains contract are on poverty wages which are less than the London Living Wage; is dismayed that these cleaners are denied sick pay and pensions and there are constant complaints of bullying and harassment of staff and victimisation of trade union representatives; is deeply concerned that the Eurostar cleaners have complained that there is a racial undertone to the haranguing of the mainly black and ethnic minority workforce; believes these employment abuses are more akin to the Victorian age; notes that the cleaners have been pushed into taking strike action to fight for dignity at work and salutes their bravery and solidarity; demands Eurostar and Carlisle Group take urgent steps to reach a fair settlement with the cleaners; further notes that Eurostar is publicly owned and that many public authorities have successfully intervened to ensure a living wage is paid throughout their contract chains; and therefore calls on the Government to do all it can to bring about a just conclusion to this dispute.

This motion has been signed by a total of 50 MPs.

Frank Dobson21/10/2009Holborn and St PancrasLabourProposed
John McDonnell21/10/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott21/10/2009Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/10/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Gwyn Prosser21/10/2009DoverLabourSeconded
Kate Hoey21/10/2009VauxhallLabourSeconded
Katy Clark21/10/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore22/10/2009HendonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley22/10/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew George22/10/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn22/10/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Martin Caton22/10/2009GowerLabourSigned
Lynne Jones22/10/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle26/10/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Jim McGovern26/10/2009Dundee WestLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter26/10/2009Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Betty Williams26/10/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin26/10/2009Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/10/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Frank Cook26/10/2009Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale26/10/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper26/10/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson26/10/2009Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins26/10/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden27/10/2009Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Dai Davies27/10/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Rudi Vis27/10/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan27/10/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Drew27/10/2009StroudLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell27/10/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ian McCartney27/10/2009MakerfieldLabourSigned
Eric Martlew27/10/2009CarlisleLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins27/10/2009TamworthLabourSigned
John Cummings27/10/2009EasingtonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington28/10/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan28/10/2009HalifaxLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell28/10/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Murphy28/10/2009TorfaenLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd28/10/2009Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Linton28/10/2009BatterseaLabourSigned
David Simpson28/10/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
John Pugh29/10/2009SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chaytor29/10/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Janet Dean29/10/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson03/11/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Hamilton03/11/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
David Anderson03/11/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing04/11/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Eric Illsley05/11/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John Austin11/11/2009Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.