Parliament Website

Retail Of Alcohol Standards Group

EDM number 451 in 2008-09, proposed by Philip Davies on 14/01/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Service industries.

That this House congratulates the supermarket, off-licence and convenience store members of the Retail of Alcohol Standards Group for their continued commitment to tackling underage sales in the off trade as demonstrated by the introduction of a Challenge 25 policy; believes that by challenging customers that cashiers suspect are under 25 years to prove their age the retail sector will further drive a cultural change amongst young people who will expect to have to prove their age should they wish to buy alcohol from the off trade; agrees that the partnership approach the Retail of Alcohol Standards Group promotes through this policy and other community-based activity is an effective way of tackling issues surrounding the consumption of alcohol; is delighted to see retailers taking such a responsible and proactive stance on underage sales; and encourages the wide usage of this initiative.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Philip Davies14/01/2009ShipleyConservativeProposed
David Lepper14/01/2009Brighton, PavilionLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/01/2009Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Don Foster14/01/2009BathLiberal DemocratSeconded
Stephen Crabb14/01/2009Preseli PembrokeshireConservativeSeconded
Janet Anderson14/01/2009Rossendale and DarwenLabourSeconded
Andrew George14/01/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Hoyle15/01/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Alan Meale15/01/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn15/01/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer15/01/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore15/01/2009HendonLabourSigned
David Drew15/01/2009StroudLabourSigned
Ann Winterton15/01/2009CongletonConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams15/01/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Evan Harris19/01/2009Oxford West and AbingdonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins19/01/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock19/01/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams19/01/2009ConwyLabourSigned
John Leech20/01/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton20/01/2009GowerLabourSigned
Alan Simpson21/01/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan21/01/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Evans21/01/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Nick Harvey22/01/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis22/01/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
David Wilshire22/01/2009SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Roger Williams26/01/2009Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Julie Kirkbride26/01/2009BromsgroveConservativeSigned
Kim Howells26/01/2009PontypriddLabourSigned
Gwyn Prosser26/01/2009DoverLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins27/01/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/01/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ian Stewart28/01/2009EcclesLabourSigned
Geoffrey Clifton-Brown29/01/2009CotswoldConservativeSigned
Joan Humble04/02/2009Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Eric Illsley23/02/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
John McDonnell27/02/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Iris Robinson16/03/2009StrangfordDUPSigned
Michael Jabez FosterUnknownWithdrawn

Download raw data as csv or xml.