Parliament Website

Food Security

EDM number 475 in 2008-09, proposed by Timothy Farron on 15/01/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Farmers and Food.

That this House recognises the results of the recent poll conducted by the Institute of Grocery Distribution into consumer attitudes to farming; welcomes the news that 87 per cent. of consumers believe that supermarkets should focus more on selling food produced by British farmers; notes with great interest that 88 per cent. of consumers believe that Britain needs to be much more self-sufficient in its food production; and calls on the Government's newly formed Food Council to reassess its food security priorities to ensure that Britain has sustainable sources of food production to meet the demand of future generations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Tim Farron15/01/2009Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Jeremy Corbyn19/01/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams19/01/2009Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones19/01/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
David Taylor19/01/2009North West LeicestershireLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock19/01/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Williams19/01/2009CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/01/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle20/01/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton20/01/2009GowerLabourSigned
David Drew20/01/2009StroudLabourSigned
Andrew George20/01/2009St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech20/01/2009Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil20/01/2009Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson21/01/2009Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Nigel Evans21/01/2009Ribble ValleyConservativeSigned
Rudi Vis22/01/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Colin Breed22/01/2009South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alistair Carmichael22/01/2009Orkney and ShetlandLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey22/01/2009North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell26/01/2009Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Ann Cryer26/01/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Bill Etherington26/01/2009Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell26/01/2009Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams26/01/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins27/01/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean28/01/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Jennifer Willott28/01/2009Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming02/02/2009Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson05/02/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Richard Younger-Ross23/02/2009TeignbridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell27/02/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds03/03/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Iris Robinson16/03/2009StrangfordDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.