Parliament Website

Unite's Not-For-profit Campaign

EDM number 1038 in 2009-10, proposed by Jim Dobbin on 08/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Charities and Voluntary organisations.

That this House recognises that the workforce in the not-for-profit sector plays a vital role in the delivery of services; believes that it is highly dedicated to the quality of care and provision for users and that its skills and professionalism must not be undermined by the decisions of commissioners; further believes that poor contracts are causing excessive overtime in order to maintain services resulting in high levels of stress, family breakdown, ill health and a poor working environment, including workplace bullying and a lack of duty of care; further believes that short term funding only leads to job insecurity, poor pension opportunities and the inability to plan and to be strategic; further believes that cuts in funding have led to a poorly trained and developed workforce; congratulates Unite's campaign to ensure that the needs of the not-for-profit workforce is not forgotten; and calls on the Government, local authorities and other funders to ensure that contracts are properly funded on the principle of best value and not low cost, to ensure that the funding period is extended to between five and 10 years, and to take urgent measures to support the workforce.

This motion has been signed by a total of 68 MPs.

Jim Dobbin08/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourProposed
Ian Stewart08/03/2010EcclesLabourSeconded
Dai Havard08/03/2010Merthyr Tydfil and RhymneyLabourSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle08/03/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
David Crausby08/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSeconded
Jim Sheridan08/03/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Meale09/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Rudi Vis09/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Graham Stringer09/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock09/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn09/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew09/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore09/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer09/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
David Clelland09/03/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Brian Iddon09/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Joan Humble09/03/2010Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
George Howarth09/03/2010Knowsley North and Sefton EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn09/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Mark Hendrick09/03/2010PrestonLabourSigned
Phyllis Starkey09/03/2010Milton Keynes South WestLabourSigned
Bob Spink09/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSigned
Alan Simpson09/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bob Russell09/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing10/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan10/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jim Dowd10/03/2010Lewisham WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty10/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell10/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton10/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins10/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson10/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Janet Dean11/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Dai Davies11/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Natascha Engel12/03/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter12/03/2010Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Ian Davidson15/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
David Hamilton15/03/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
John Mason15/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Virendra Sharma16/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/03/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner16/03/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Stephen Pound16/03/2010Ealing NorthLabourSigned
Paul Murphy16/03/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden17/03/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
John Cummings18/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Tom Clarke22/03/2010Coatbridge, Chryston and BellshillLabourSigned
Jim McGovern22/03/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Colin Burgon22/03/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Andrew Love22/03/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
Linda Riordan23/03/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
George Galloway30/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Marsha Singh06/04/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
David Heyes07/04/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.