Parliament Website

Pay Of Senior Local Authority Officers

EDM number 1049 in 2009-10, proposed by Bob Spink on 09/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Local government and Pay.

That this House notes that while public sector workers face redundancy and low pay, council bosses have continued to increase their own pay by 15 per cent. on average since 2007-08; believes that this is selfish and irresponsible; further notes that the council bosses refuse to publish their publicly funded pay packages because of fear of public anger against them; congratulates the Government for forcing publication of top council bosses' pay from 1 April 2010, because people have a right to know; and calls on the Government and the Opposition to publish in their election manifestos further measures to curb council bosses' excessive pay, including severance pay.

This motion has been signed by a total of 26 MPs.

Bob Spink09/03/2010Castle PointIndependentProposed
Brian Iddon10/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Gregory Campbell10/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSeconded
David Drew10/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore10/03/2010HendonLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell10/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn10/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Mark Durkan11/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Hamilton15/03/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan17/03/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
William McCrea17/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds17/03/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
Lindsay Roy18/03/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Paul Flynn22/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
David Heyes07/04/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.