Parliament Website

Justification Process For New Nuclear Reactors

EDM number 1052 in 2009-10, proposed by Simon Hughes on 09/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Nuclear power.

That this House notes that the justification process, which is a high level assessment of the benefits of building new nuclear power stations in relation to their health implications, is a legal obligation which must be completed by the Government before new nuclear power plants can be built; notes also that the justification process is a key part of the international system for attempting to ensure the safety of nuclear power; is extremely concerned that no satisfactory arrangements have been made for the safe disposal of nuclear waste in the UK and that justification is going ahead before new-design reactors have been approved by UK regulators; expresses further concern that there will be no parliamentary scrutiny of justification until after any decision to justify is made; believes that the justification of new nuclear reactors should be made in a transparent way in order to ensure maximum public understanding; and therefore calls on the Government to hold an independent inquiry into the case for justification, as permitted by existing regulations.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Simon Hughes09/03/2010North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratProposed
Michael Meacher10/03/2010Oldham West and RoytonLabourSeconded
Michael Weir10/03/2010AngusScottish National PartySeconded
Alan Simpson10/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Martin Horwood10/03/2010CheltenhamLiberal DemocratSeconded
Mark Durkan10/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Charles Kennedy10/03/2010Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter10/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech10/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Paul Holmes10/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Adrian Sanders10/03/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke11/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies11/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Jennifer Willott11/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Angus MacNeil11/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John Hemming11/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George11/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins12/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed12/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Mason15/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Andrew Pelling15/03/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Steve Webb15/03/2010NorthavonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin15/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady15/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson16/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
David Howarth16/03/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Danny Alexander16/03/2010Inverness, Nairn, Badenoch and StrathspeyLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell16/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Beith16/03/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell16/03/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake16/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard18/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Sandra Gidley18/03/2010RomseyLiberal DemocratSigned
Pete Wishart18/03/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Lorely Burt22/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy25/03/2010Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway30/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Lynne Featherstone06/04/2010Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.