Parliament Website

Clinical Physiologists

EDM number 1065 in 2009-10, proposed by Charlotte Atkins on 10/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House welcomes the valuable contribution that clinical physiologists make to patient care in the NHS; notes the importance of clinical physiologists in developing and delivering a wide range of sensitive diagnostic and therapeutic procedures directly to patients in the disciplines of audiology, cardiology, gastrointestinal physiology, neurophysiology and respiratory physiology; acknowledges the significant impact these procedures can have on patient safety if delivered by those unfit to practise; notes with concern that despite the Health Professions Council's recommendation in 2004 that clinical physiologists should be statutorily regulated, statutory regulation is still not in place; recognises the value of the current voluntary register which has been compiled and administered by the Registration Council for Clinical Physiologists, but believes that voluntary registration does not provide patients with enough protection against a small minority who are unfit to practise; welcomes the commitment by the Department of Health to have a statutory regulation in place by 2011; and calls on the Department of Health, as well as its counterparts in Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland to ensure that there are no unnecessary delays in the process towards statutory regulation, particularly in the context of Modernising Scientific Careers and the ongoing revision of career and educational pathways for the wider healthcare science workforce which clinical physiologists are part of and in the context of protecting patient safety.

This motion has been signed by a total of 43 MPs.

Charlotte Atkins10/03/2010Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourProposed
David Blunkett10/03/2010Sheffield, BrightsideLabourSeconded
Sandra Gidley10/03/2010RomseyLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley10/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Robert Syms10/03/2010PooleConservativeSeconded
David Amess10/03/2010Southend WestConservativeSeconded
Ann Cryer11/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
David Drew11/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Mark Durkan11/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew George11/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn12/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Colin Breed12/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Michael Connarty15/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Mike Hancock15/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Betty Williams15/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Janet Dean16/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma16/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mark Hunter16/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech16/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Richard Burden16/03/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty16/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
William McCrea17/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Colin Burgon17/03/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Bill Etherington17/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Albert Owen18/03/2010Ynys MLabourSigned
John Hemming18/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell22/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson22/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.