Parliament Website

Missing Persons In Cyprus

EDM number 1081 in 2009-10, proposed by Edward O'Hara on 12/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Burial and cremation and Western Europe.

That this House notes the recent discovery of a mass grave in Lapithos containing remains identified as those of Fivos Christofi from Aglantzia, Kostas Kapsokaritis from Tseri and Michalakis Anastasiou from Famagusta, who will be remembered at the forthcoming Annual General Meeting of the Organisation of Relatives of Missing Cypriots (UK); welcomes all such discoveries which are being made by exhumation teams of both sides of the buffer zone in Cyprus; recognises the generosity of those countries, agencies and individuals who have donated finance, technical support and forensic expertise to locating, exhuming and identifying the remains of those missing since the invasion of Cyprus in 1974; is conscious however that to date no more than 10 per cent. of the missing have been located; recalls the judgment of the European Court of Human Rights (ECHR) that Turkey is in violation of articles 2, 3 and 5 of the European Convention on Human Rights through its failure to collect, record and disclose information about those known and seen to be alive after their capture in 1974; sympathises with the missing persons' relatives who in the words of this judgment must have suffered most painful uncertainty and anxiety and whose mental anguish has not vanished with the passing of time; and calls on the Government to exert all possible influence on Turkey to comply with the ECHR judgment and to assist and co-operate in tracing and identifying the remains of the missing, thus permitting relatives to have closure to their grief and bereavement.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Edward O'Hara12/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourProposed
Kelvin Hopkins15/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer15/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Bob Spink15/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Lynne Jones15/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Robert Wareing15/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSeconded
Michael Connarty15/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn15/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley15/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Andrew George16/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma16/03/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Rudi Vis16/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Mark Durkan16/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Alan Meale16/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
David Lepper16/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan17/03/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Elliot Morley17/03/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/03/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Andrew Love22/03/2010EdmontonLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty22/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.