Parliament Website

Malaysia And Anwar Ibrahim

EDM number 1092 in 2009-10, proposed by Jeremy Corbyn on 15/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Asia and Human rights.

That this House recognises Malaysian Opposition Leader Anwar Ibrahim's contribution to promoting democracy in Malaysia and peace and understanding between the Muslim world in the West; is deeply concerned at the charges laid against Anwar Ibrahim and that his current trial flouts international standards of fairness and adherence to the rule of law; notes that this trial resembles the one he faced in 1998 in which the conduct of the judiciary was condemned by Malaysians and by the international community; further notes the renewed exhortations by international human rights organisations including Amnesty International and Human Rights Watch and prominent leaders from Commonwealth nations including the Right honourable Paul Martin of Canada and the Right honourable Michael Danby and 59 other elected representatives of Australia for the Malaysian government to drop the charges against Anwar Ibrahim; and calls on the Malaysian authorities to bring an end to the harassment and persecution of members of the political opposition.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Jeremy Corbyn15/03/2010Islington NorthLabourProposed
John McDonnell15/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones16/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Andrew George16/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Drew16/03/2010StroudLabourSeconded
Colin Breed16/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson16/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Harry Cohen16/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Ann Cryer16/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore16/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley16/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton17/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Andrew MacKay18/03/2010BracknellConservativeSigned
Adrian Sanders22/03/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Kate Hoey22/03/2010VauxhallLabourSigned
Tom Brake23/03/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Katy Clark23/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jon Cruddas30/03/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
David Howarth30/03/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Durkan06/04/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Diane Abbott06/04/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSigned
Patrick Hall06/04/2010BedfordLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.