Parliament Website

Restorative Justice Prison Programmes

EDM number 1097 in 2009-10, proposed by Timothy Farron on 16/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Crime and Prisons.

That this House notes with concern the figures revealed by the National Audit Office showing that prisoner re-offending rates cost the taxpayer £10 billion a year; applauds the positive impact of restorative justice programmes such as those run by the organisation Sycamore Tree, which have been shown to halve re-offending rates among participants; believes that at £3,500 for a six-week programme for 20 inmates, Sycamore Tree's restorative justice course is excellent value for money, providing restitution and release for victims and a chance to reform for offenders; and calls on the Government to ensure that restorative justice programmes are available in every prison.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Tim Farron16/03/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell16/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lorely Burt17/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lynne Jones17/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
John Leech17/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Ronnie Campbell17/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
David Drew17/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Keith Vaz17/03/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson18/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Edward Davey18/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell24/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Hunter24/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Menzies Campbell25/03/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
Julia Goldsworthy25/03/2010Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Pelling06/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Barry Sheerman07/04/2010HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Kim Howells07/04/2010PontypriddLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.