Parliament Website

Free Calls To Government Departments

EDM number 1098 in 2009-10, proposed by John Battle on 16/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Central government.

That this House welcomes the decision by the Department for Work and Pensions (DWP) and major mobile telephone companies to make it free to call DWP 0800 numbers, including the crisis loans service, which had been costing 9,000,000 callers per year up to 40 pence per minute from a mobile telephone; congratulates the staff of Leeds Citizens Advice Bureau for their campaigning and research on behalf of claimants pressing for free telephone calls; notes that this will make a tremendous difference to the 12 per cent. of UK households, many of them amongst the poorest in Britain, who only have access to a mobile telephone and do not have a landline; and urges other Government departments, particularly HM Revenue and Customs, to take action to end the current situation, where people in the most urgent need of a financial safety net face a bill of up to £12 for a half hour call to 08 numbered Government helplines.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

John Battle16/03/2010Leeds WestLabourProposed
Bob Russell16/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley16/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan16/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Dobbin17/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Richard Taylor17/03/2010Wyre ForestIndependentSeconded
Ian Davidson17/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
John Mason17/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Stephen Williams17/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech17/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Lorely Burt17/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew17/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell17/03/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Paul Murphy17/03/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
David Lepper17/03/2010Brighton, PavilionLabourSigned
Lynne Jones17/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle17/03/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
Paul Holmes17/03/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Hepburn17/03/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
John Cummings18/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Robert Wareing18/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Hemming18/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dai Davies18/03/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Jennifer Willott22/03/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim McGovern22/03/2010Dundee WestLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty22/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Connarty22/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd23/03/2010Meirionnydd Nant ConwyPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Bill Etherington23/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Fabian Hamilton23/03/2010Leeds North EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams23/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Linda Riordan23/03/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell24/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds24/03/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
William McCrea24/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins24/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
John Austin25/03/2010Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd06/04/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Andrew Pelling06/04/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSigned
Barry Sheerman07/04/2010HuddersfieldLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.