Parliament Website

Retro-Reflective Markings And Heavy Goods Vehicles

EDM number 1130 in 2009-10, proposed by John Leech on 18/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House notes that the rate of fatal accidents involving heavy goods vehicles (HGVs) remains disproportionately high, causing 75 per cent. of all road fatalities despite accounting for only 5.6 per cent. of UK road traffic; recognises that retro-reflective markings along the side and rear of HGVs have been proved to be an effective means of reducing accidents, improving safety for hauliers and all other road users; applauds Reflect for its work on promoting the benefits of these markings; and calls on all haulage companies to sign up to a voluntary code of practice to fit retro-reflective markings on HGVs, prior to it becoming mandatory for newly-registered vehicles in June 2011.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

John Leech18/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratProposed
Brian Iddon18/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones18/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley22/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle22/03/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock22/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale22/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Durkan22/03/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Rudi Vis22/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil23/03/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Graham Stringer23/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
David Drew23/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/03/2010HendonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer23/03/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty23/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins24/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Mark Hunter24/03/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Stunell24/03/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Andrew George24/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke24/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
William McCrea24/03/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara25/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Betty Williams29/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Eric Illsley30/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
George Galloway30/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
John Mason30/03/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Eddie McGrady06/04/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Norman Baker06/04/2010LewesLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.