Parliament Website

Political Donations Originating Overseas

EDM number 1140 in 2009-10, proposed by Gordon Prentice on 22/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Political parties.

That this House notes that in its recent investigation the Electoral Commission satisfied itself that Bearwood Corporate Services carried on some trade in the UK and is registered here and is, therefore, a permissible donor; further notes the Commission's view that there is nothing in the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 which requires donations to a political party to be generated from a company's own trading; observes that the millions donated by Bearwood to the Conservative Party did not come from profits generated here in the UK from trading but originated overseas; and calls for the Political Parties, Elections and Referendums Act 2000 to be amended to close this loophole.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs.

Gordon Prentice22/03/2010PendleLabourProposed
Bob Spink22/03/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Jim Dobbin23/03/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Graham Stringer23/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Derek Wyatt23/03/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer23/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Martin Caton23/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Williams23/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew23/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Lynne Jones23/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Brian Iddon23/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
John Cummings24/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Janet Anderson24/03/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Lorely Burt24/03/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Ken Purchase25/03/2010Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Harry Cohen25/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Edward O'Hara25/03/2010Knowsley SouthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/03/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Betty Williams29/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner30/03/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Mann30/03/2010BassetlawLabourSigned
David Clelland30/03/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Michael Clapham06/04/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman07/04/2010HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Kim Howells07/04/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Shona McIsaac07/04/2010CleethorpesLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.