Parliament Website

Parliamentary Election Count In Harrogate And Knaresborough

EDM number 1158 in 2009-10, proposed by Phil Willis on 23/03/2010.
Categorised under the topic of General elections.

That this House supports the principle that the counting of votes following the 2010 general election should take place immediately after the close of polls, recognising that in some remote areas the commencement of the count may be delayed for several hours; is disappointed that in Harrogate and Knaresborough where all ballot boxes can be returned to a central counting area within an hour of the closing of the polls a decision has been taken to delay the count until the next day; believes that election night remains one of the remaining opportunities for mass engagement with the political system; supports the view of the Speaker of the House of Commons that it is important to democracy that counting is not delayed and we have `instant and not slow motion democracy'; was pleased that there was cross-party support for an amendment to the Constitutional Reform and Governance Bill 2009 to require councils to arrange counts within four hours of the closure of the polls; and calls on Harrogate Borough Council to re-consider its ill-advised decision to break with decades of tradition and agree to hold the 2010 general election count immediately after the polls close.

This motion has been signed by a total of 24 MPs.

Phil Willis23/03/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratProposed
Bob Russell24/03/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Graham Stringer24/03/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer24/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Stephen Williams24/03/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lindsay Hoyle24/03/2010ChorleyLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones24/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
David Crausby24/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ken Purchase25/03/2010Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Mike Hancock25/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing29/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
John Hemming29/03/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Nick Harvey29/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins30/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean30/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Roger Williams30/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech30/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Greg Mulholland30/03/2010Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Chris McCafferty06/04/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Michael Clapham06/04/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Andrew Stunell06/04/2010Hazel GroveLiberal DemocratSigned
Barry Sheerman07/04/2010HuddersfieldLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.