Parliament Website

Forthcoming Election In Ethiopia

EDM number 1189 in 2009-10, proposed by Mohammad Sarwar on 25/03/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Africa and General elections.

That this House notes with concern the new restrictions placed on media coverage of the forthcoming general election in Ethiopia; further notes with great sadness the violent aftermath of the 2005 election; expresses its anxiety over the findings of the European Parliament's election monitoring team led by Ana Gomez MEP in 2005; and calls on the Ethiopian government to ensure that this year's election is free, fair and transparent.

This motion has been signed by a total of 19 MPs.

Mohammad Sarwar25/03/2010Glasgow CentralLabourProposed
Lynne Jones25/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn29/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Alan Simpson29/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer29/03/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
David Crausby30/03/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Betty Williams30/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock30/03/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew30/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
Ian Davidson30/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Harry Cohen30/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell30/03/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins30/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson06/04/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
William McCrea06/04/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Michael Clapham06/04/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Anderson06/04/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Karen Buck07/04/2010Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.