Parliament Website

Tax Relief Cap

EDM number 296 in 2009-10, proposed by Harry Cohen on 30/11/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Taxation.

That this House supports the proposal of the Trades Union Congress (TUC) that the amount of tax relief that can be claimed by those earning more than £100,000 a year be capped at £5,000; notes that this would raise £10 billion a year; further notes the recent TUC analysis which revealed that just 3.1 per cent. of the taxpayer population receive 31 per cent. of all tax relief, averaging £18,750 a year each; and considers that this tax relief cap on the better off is a fairer way to reduce the deficit than cuts in public services or tax rises affecting poorer households.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Harry Cohen30/11/2009Leyton and WansteadLabourProposed
David Taylor01/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
David Drew01/12/2009StroudLabourSeconded
Martin Caton01/12/2009GowerLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn01/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan01/12/2009FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Dai Davies02/12/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSeconded
Ann Cryer02/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Jim Devine02/12/2009LivingstonLabourSigned
Desmond Turner02/12/2009Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Janet Dean02/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham02/12/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Lynne Jones02/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Lindsay Hoyle02/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt03/12/2009Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn07/12/2009JarrowLabourSigned
Betty Williams07/12/2009ConwyLabourSigned
Robert Wareing07/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock07/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton07/12/2009MidlothianLabourSigned
Eric Illsley07/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Colin Burgon08/12/2009ElmetLabourSigned
Jim Cousins08/12/2009Newcastle upon Tyne CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins09/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Denis Murphy09/12/2009WansbeckLabourSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
John Mason15/12/2009Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff12/01/2010Birmingham, Sparkbrook and Small HeathLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.