Parliament Website

Victory Of Evo Morales In The Bolivian Elections

EDM number 376 in 2009-10, proposed by Colin Burgon on 07/12/2009.
Categorised under the topics of Latin America and Election results : international.

That this House congratulates the President of Bolivia, Evo Morales, on his emphatic victory in the presidential elections on 6 December 2009; notes that he received more than 60 per cent. of the vote compared with the 54 per cent. he won in the 2005 elections; further notes that the Movimiento al Socialismo has greatly increased its presence in the new legislative assembly to nearly two-thirds of the seats; recognises that these elections mark a significant and welcome defeat for the extreme right based in the eastern lowlands area; and views the extremely high voter participation as indicating the growing mass support for the anti neo-liberal policies pursued by President Morales.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

David Taylor07/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Colin Burgon07/12/2009ElmetLabourProposed
Gordon Prentice07/12/2009PendleLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins07/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn07/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Diane Abbott07/12/2009Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourSeconded
Andrew Dismore08/12/2009HendonLabourSeconded
Dai Davies08/12/2009Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Katy Clark08/12/2009North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Mike Wood08/12/2009Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing08/12/2009Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn08/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew08/12/2009StroudLabourSigned
Colin Challen08/12/2009Morley and RothwellLabourSigned
Peter Kilfoyle08/12/2009Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Paul Holmes08/12/2009ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Marsha Singh08/12/2009Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan08/12/2009Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Angus MacNeil09/12/2009Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
David Anderson09/12/2009BlaydonLabourSigned
Rudi Vis09/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Martin Caton09/12/2009GowerLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell09/12/2009Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis09/12/2009AberavonLabourSigned
Joan Humble10/12/2009Blackpool North and FleetwoodLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Willie Rennie14/12/2009Dunfermline and West FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Chaytor14/12/2009Bury NorthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham15/12/2009Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Andy Slaughter15/12/2009Ealing, Acton and Shepherd's BushLabourSigned
Simon Hughes16/12/2009North Southwark and BermondseyLiberal DemocratSigned
George Galloway16/12/2009Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
John Battle16/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSigned
Alan Simpson07/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington19/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.