Parliament Website

Biomass Co-Firing And Drax Power Station

EDM number 385 in 2009-10, proposed by John Grogan on 07/12/2009.
Categorised under the topic of Renewable energy.

That this House applauds the fact that a Yorkshire company, Drax Power, is commissioning the largest biomass co-firing facility in the world which when fully operational will account for 12.5 per cent. of its output, equivalent to the energy produced by 600 wind turbines, saving over 2.5 million tonnes of carbon dioxide a year; notes that under the draft Renewables Obligation Order it is stipulated that electricity suppliers will be limited to obtaining a maximum of 12.5 per cent. of their renewables obligation certificates from the co-firing of biomass with coal; further notes that co-firing is the cheapest form of renewable energy generation and that a cap discriminates against independent power producers and will restrict the amount of co-firing that will take place, so increasing the amount of carbon dioxide that would otherwise be emitted and raising the cost of electricity for the consumer; and calls for the Secretary of State for Energy and Climate Change to increase the cap to 17.5 per cent., as recommended by the independent Oxera study commissioned by his Department.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

John Grogan07/12/2009SelbyLabourProposed
Kevin Barron07/12/2009Rother ValleyLabourSeconded
John Battle07/12/2009Leeds WestLabourSeconded
Mike Wood07/12/2009Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Chris McCafferty07/12/2009Calder ValleyLabourSeconded
Elliot Morley07/12/2009ScunthorpeLabourSeconded
David Taylor08/12/2009North West LeicestershireLabourWithdrawn
Lindsay Hoyle08/12/2009ChorleyLabourSigned
Brian Iddon08/12/2009Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Lynne Jones08/12/2009Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Alan Meale08/12/2009MansfieldLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2009East LondonderryDUPSigned
Ann Cryer08/12/2009KeighleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock08/12/2009Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Peter Bottomley09/12/2009Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Paul Flynn09/12/2009Newport WestLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2009Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Janet Dean09/12/2009BurtonLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell09/12/2009Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Denis Murphy09/12/2009WansbeckLabourSigned
William McCrea09/12/2009South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson09/12/2009Upper BannDUPSigned
Gordon Prentice09/12/2009PendleLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn09/12/2009Islington NorthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley10/12/2009Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins10/12/2009TamworthLabourSigned
Rudi Vis10/12/2009Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard15/12/2009WalthamstowLabourSigned
Jo Swinson15/12/2009East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Paddy Tipping15/12/2009SherwoodLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins15/12/2009Luton NorthLabourSigned
Marsha Singh05/01/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Michael Clapham05/01/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
David Anderson05/01/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Brian Binley12/01/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Jon Cruddas19/01/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
Desmond Turner19/01/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.