Parliament Website

Government Policy On Looped Blind Cord Safety

EDM number 680 in 2009-10, proposed by Gordon Banks on 20/01/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Industrial health and safety.

That this House notes with disappointment the Government's refusal to respond formally to the recommendations made by Sheriff Mackie in May 2009 as a result of the Fatal Accident Inquiry into the tragic death of Muireann McLaughlin; further notes that Sheriff Mackie's recommendations were designed to increase safety levels in the operation of blinds and curtains and as a result reduce deaths by strangulation with operating cords; believes that an industry-driven solution has not been delivered and that Government action is necessary to protect the lives of young children; and calls on the Government to review its decision and engage in a constructive and meaningful manner on this life and death issue.

This motion has been signed by a total of 27 MPs.

Gordon Banks20/01/2010Ochil and South PerthshireLabourProposed
Lynne Jones21/01/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Brian Jenkins21/01/2010TamworthLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/01/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Bill Etherington25/01/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSeconded
Bob Spink25/01/2010Castle PointIndependentSeconded
Mark Durkan25/01/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Betty Williams25/01/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock26/01/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Truswell26/01/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Janet Dean26/01/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Ann Cryer26/01/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Martin Caton26/01/2010GowerLabourSigned
Colin Breed26/01/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Alan Simpson26/01/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
David Simpson27/01/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Lindsay Hoyle27/01/2010ChorleyLabourSigned
William McCrea27/01/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
John Cummings27/01/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Keith Vaz27/01/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn28/01/2010JarrowLabourSigned
John Mason28/01/2010Glasgow EastScottish National PartySigned
Harry Cohen29/01/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Menzies Campbell01/02/2010North East FifeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Anderson01/02/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Paul Flynn02/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins03/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.