Parliament Website

Category B3a Automated Lottery Machines And Value Added Tax

EDM number 769 in 2009-10, proposed by Philip Davies on 01/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Gambling and Taxation.

That this House is alarmed that large numbers of traditional working men's clubs, ex-servicemen's and political clubs may have to close following the decision of HM Revenue and Customs to serve them with assessments to pay value added tax (VAT) and duty on category B3A automated lottery machines operating on their premises, having changed their status from lottery machines to gaming machines; notes that unlike gaming machines, category B3A machines do not dispense cash prizes, and that winning tickets are redeemed via the club; appreciates that there is no private gain to be had from such machines as they are simply another source of fundraising for the club and the revenue often serves as a lifeline to smaller clubs; points out that HM Revenue and Customs consider paper-based lottery machines, which differ only from automated lottery machines in that they display the result via paper, to be exempt from value added tax and duty; draws attention to the fact that the Gambling Commission still states that category B3A machines can offer only lottery games; points out that private members' clubs are not-for-profit organisations and as such do not have the resources to pay retrospective tax bills; and calls on the Government to halt this process, taking into account its negative economic and social impact on local communities up and down the country.

This motion has been signed by a total of 61 MPs.

Philip Davies01/02/2010ShipleyConservativeProposed
Ann Winterton02/02/2010CongletonConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale02/02/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Rudi Vis02/02/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSeconded
Ann Cryer02/02/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Janet Dean02/02/2010BurtonLabourSeconded
Humfrey Malins03/02/2010WokingConservativeSigned
Neil Gerrard03/02/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Peter Bottomley03/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
John Cummings04/02/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Lynne Jones05/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSigned
Bill Etherington05/02/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
David Clelland08/02/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSigned
David Davies08/02/2010MonmouthConservativeSigned
John Hemming08/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Jennifer Willott10/02/2010Cardiff CentralLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley10/02/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Patrick Mercer22/02/2010NewarkConservativeSigned
Mark Oaten22/02/2010WinchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
David Crausby22/02/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Leech22/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Sally Keeble23/02/2010Northampton NorthLabourSigned
Fraser Kemp23/02/2010Houghton and Washington EastLabourSigned
Denis Murphy23/02/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Richard Burden23/02/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSigned
John Greenway23/02/2010RyedaleConservativeSigned
Janet Anderson23/02/2010Rossendale and DarwenLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt23/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Angela Smith23/02/2010Sheffield, HillsboroughLabourSigned
David Borrow24/02/2010South RibbleLabourSigned
David Anderson24/02/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Mike Wood24/02/2010Batley and SpenLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty24/02/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
Don Touhig24/02/2010IslwynLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn25/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Michael Moore25/02/2010Berwickshire, Roxburgh and SelkirkLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Breed01/03/2010South East CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Colin Burgon01/03/2010ElmetLabourSigned
Kitty Ussher01/03/2010BurnleyLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice02/03/2010PendleLabourSigned
Brian Binley03/03/2010Northampton SouthConservativeSigned
Brian Jenkins04/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Michael Clapham04/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Don Foster04/03/2010BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Kevin Barron04/03/2010Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Roger Williams08/03/2010Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Syms08/03/2010PooleConservativeSigned
Greg Pope10/03/2010HyndburnLabourSigned
Christopher Huhne10/03/2010EastleighLiberal DemocratSigned
Natascha Engel12/03/2010North East DerbyshireLabourSigned
Brian Iddon15/03/2010Bolton South EastLabourSigned
Paul Rowen18/03/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratSigned
Charlotte Atkins23/03/2010Staffordshire MoorlandsLabourSigned
Edward Timpson23/03/2010Crewe and NantwichConservativeSigned
David Wilshire24/03/2010SpelthorneConservativeSigned
Glenda Jackson29/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSigned
Mark Pritchard29/03/2010The WrekinConservativeSigned
Jon Cruddas30/03/2010DagenhamLabourSigned
Alan Keen06/04/2010Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Michael Mates06/04/2010East HampshireConservativeSigned
Anne Main06/04/2010St AlbansConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.