Parliament Website

Election Night In Northern Ireland

EDM number 876 in 2009-10, proposed by Sammy Wilson on 22/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of General elections.

That this House welcomes the decision of the Chief Electoral Officer in Northern Ireland to count the ballots for the general election immediately following the close of the polls on election day; notes that this demonstrates the improved security situation in Northern Ireland which enables this to take place for the first time; commends the work of police across the United Kingdom who at every election work to ensure that citizens can exercise their democratic right to vote; and supports calls to ensure that all constituencies across the United Kingdom count ballot papers on the night of the election so that the composition of Parliament can be known as soon as possible following the close of the polls.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

Sammy Wilson22/02/2010East AntrimDUPProposed
Ann Cryer22/02/2010KeighleyLabourSeconded
Alan Meale22/02/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley22/02/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Ann Winterton23/02/2010CongletonConservativeSeconded
Stephen Hepburn23/02/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell23/02/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mark Durkan23/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Robert Wareing23/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Nicholas Winterton23/02/2010MacclesfieldConservativeSigned
Stephen Williams23/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean24/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
David Hamilton24/02/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
William McCrea24/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
John Hemming25/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds26/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Betty Williams01/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Philip Davies01/03/2010ShipleyConservativeSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Denis Murphy01/03/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Kate Hoey01/03/2010VauxhallLabourSigned
Ian Davidson02/03/2010Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell04/03/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson04/03/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
David Anderson08/03/2010BlaydonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.