Parliament Website

Advertising, The Media And Eating Disorders

EDM number 878 in 2009-10, proposed by Jo Swinson on 22/02/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Media and Mental health.

That this House notes that 1.6 million people in the UK are affected by eating disorders; further notes that an increasing body of research indicates that the media has a role in both providing a social context for the development and maintenance of eating disorders; further notes that the Royal College of Psychiatrists suggests that the irresponsible use of digital enhancement or airbrushing is one aspect of this problem; urges the Government to establish a forum for the development of an editorial ethical code regarding the media's portrayal of body critical issues and the Committee on Advertising Practice to introduce a kitemark scheme to declare the extent to which digital retouching technology has been used to create overly-perfected and unrealistic images of women and men, as suggested by the Royal College; and encourages the promotion of media literacy within schools as outlined by the eating disorders charity Beat in its new manifesto.

This motion has been signed by a total of 45 MPs.

Jo Swinson22/02/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Lynne Featherstone22/02/2010Hornsey and Wood GreenLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew Pelling22/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins23/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mark Hunter23/02/2010CheadleLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams23/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech23/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock23/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew23/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/02/2010HendonLabourSigned
Paul Holmes23/02/2010ChesterfieldLiberal DemocratSigned
Gordon Prentice23/02/2010PendleLabourSigned
Derek Wyatt24/02/2010Sittingbourne and SheppeyLabourSigned
Dai Davies24/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Lorely Burt24/02/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Ann Cryer24/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea24/02/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
John Hemming25/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds26/02/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Betty Williams01/03/2010ConwyLabourSigned
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSigned
Annette Brooke01/03/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Denis Murphy01/03/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
John Cummings02/03/2010EasingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Phil Willis03/03/2010Harrogate and KnaresboroughLiberal DemocratSigned
Edward Davey04/03/2010Kingston and SurbitonLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Kim Howells09/03/2010PontypriddLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Paul Truswell16/03/2010PudseyLabourSigned
Vincent Cable06/04/2010TwickenhamLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.