Parliament Website

Commercialisation Of Healthcare Provision

EDM number 889 in 2009-10, proposed by Diane Abbott on 22/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House believes that for the NHS to provide high-quality, comprehensive healthcare for all, free at the point of use, it must be publicly-funded through central taxation, publicly provided and publicly accountable; is concerned about the damaging effects on our health service that commercialisation of the NHS is having through market reforms including the use of independent sector treatment centres, imposed GP-led health centres and polyclinics, the transforming community services initiative and expensive private finance initiative projects; further believes that public money should be used for quality healthcare and not profits for shareholders; further believes that the NHS should care for patients through co-operation and not competition; supports the British Medical Association's call to abandon the market in the NHS in England; and urges Government to restore the NHS as a public service working co-operatively for patients, not a market of commercial businesses competing with each other for financial gain.

This motion has been signed by a total of 41 MPs.

Diane Abbott22/02/2010Hackney North and Stoke NewingtonLabourProposed
Richard Taylor22/02/2010Wyre ForestIndependentSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins22/02/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones22/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
Andrew Pelling22/02/2010Croydon CentralIndependentSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn23/02/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan23/02/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Leech23/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Robert Wareing23/02/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Mike Hancock23/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn23/02/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
David Drew23/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Andrew Dismore23/02/2010HendonLabourSigned
Gordon Prentice23/02/2010PendleLabourSigned
Linda Riordan24/02/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Dai Davies24/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
Desmond Turner24/02/2010Brighton, KemptownLabourSigned
Harry Cohen24/02/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
George Galloway01/03/2010Bethnal Green and BowRespectSigned
Ken Purchase02/03/2010Wolverhampton North EastLabourSigned
Michael Connarty02/03/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Andrew George05/03/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
David Heyes08/03/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
David Anderson08/03/2010BlaydonLabourSigned
Eddie McGrady10/03/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Clare Short23/03/2010Birmingham, LadywoodIndependent LabourSigned
Michael Meacher23/03/2010Oldham West and RoytonLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned
Katy Clark30/03/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Lorely Burt06/04/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Kitty Ussher06/04/2010BurnleyLabourSigned
Karen Buck07/04/2010Regent's Park and Kensington NorthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.