Parliament Website

Inquiry Into Light Rail And The City Regions

EDM number 896 in 2009-10, proposed by Paul Rowen on 23/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Roads.

That this House supports the finding of the inquiry into light rail and the city regions conducted by the All-Party Parliamentary Light Rail Group which concludes that modern trams support the transformation of the urban realm and contribute to giving cities the greener and more efficient transport systems they need; and calls on the Department for Transport to act on the recommendations of the report, in particular that the Department should provide greater leadership on light rail by providing a clear national policy, funding framework and centre for expertise, remove biases against modern trams from the appraisal process, and assist in ensuring that the high charges levied by utilities companies in relation to the construction of modern tram schemes are addressed.

This motion has been signed by a total of 29 MPs.

Paul Rowen23/02/2010RochdaleLiberal DemocratProposed
Clive Betts23/02/2010Sheffield, AttercliffeLabourSeconded
Bob Russell23/02/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
David Simpson24/02/2010Upper BannDUPSeconded
David Clelland24/02/2010Tyne BridgeLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones24/02/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
John Leech24/02/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams24/02/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer24/02/2010Manchester, BlackleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/02/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
David Drew24/02/2010StroudLabourSigned
Ann Cryer24/02/2010KeighleyLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell24/02/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell24/02/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alan Simpson24/02/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/02/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Dai Davies25/02/2010Blaenau GwentIndependentSigned
John Hemming25/02/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Janet Dean25/02/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Tom Brake25/02/2010Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Brian Jenkins25/02/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/03/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Bill Etherington03/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Julia Goldsworthy03/03/2010Falmouth and CamborneLiberal DemocratSigned
Angela Smith03/03/2010Sheffield, HillsboroughLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Nick Harvey15/03/2010North DevonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson24/03/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.