Parliament Website

Semi-Open Prisoner Category And Women In Prison

EDM number 956 in 2009-10, proposed by Mike Wood on 26/02/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Prisons.

That this House expresses concern that re-categorisation of HM Prison Morton Hall and HM Prison Drake Hall from semi-open to closed prisons has left no semi-open prisons in the whole of the female estate; notes that women who were categorised as semi-open have been re-categorised as closed for no apparent reason other than the lack of a semi-open prison to hold them and that women who are currently classed as semi-open are being held in security conditions higher than necessary; further notes that in effect a security categorisation that exists for men does not now exist for women and that no women entering prison are being given semi-open categorisation; believes this is having a negative impact on women's progression through the prison system, particularly in light of the fact that there are only two open prisons in the women's estate, with a combined capacity of 228 prisoners; further believes that this has a negative impact on the families of women in prison as it limits family leave in preparation for resettlement; and calls on the Government to review its decision.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Mike Wood26/02/2010Batley and SpenLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley01/03/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Glenda Jackson01/03/2010Hampstead and HighgateLabourSeconded
Martin Caton01/03/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Gordon Prentice01/03/2010PendleLabourSeconded
Lynne Jones01/03/2010Birmingham, Selly OakLabourSeconded
John McDonnell01/03/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn01/03/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Simpson02/03/2010Nottingham SouthLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins02/03/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
David Drew02/03/2010StroudLabourSigned
John Leech02/03/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan03/03/2010HalifaxLabourSigned
Janet Dean03/03/2010BurtonLabourSigned
Frank Cook03/03/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Brian Jenkins04/03/2010TamworthLabourSigned
Alan Meale04/03/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Harry Cohen04/03/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Rudi Vis04/03/2010Finchley and Golders GreenLabourSigned
Robert Wareing04/03/2010Liverpool, West DerbyIndependentSigned
Neil Gerrard05/03/2010WalthamstowLabourSigned
Eric Illsley08/03/2010Barnsley CentralLabourSigned
Bill Etherington09/03/2010Sunderland NorthLabourSigned
Chris McCafferty10/03/2010Calder ValleyLabourSigned
David Howarth16/03/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Hamilton22/03/2010MidlothianLabourSigned
Gavin Strang25/03/2010Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Michael Clapham29/03/2010Barnsley West and PenistoneLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.