Parliament Website

Arctic Medal For Convoy Veterans

EDM number 1065 in 2010-12, proposed by Angus Robertson on 22/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Veterans.

That this House pays tribute to the convoy heroes who sailed through a gauntlet of Nazi air, submarine and battleship attack in subzero conditions to keep the Soviet Union supplied in the Second World War; notes the strong cross-party support in recent years for an official campaign medal to be created for the veterans of the Second World War's Arctic campaign from 1941 to 1945, including previous promises from Conservative and Liberal Democrat leaders and defence spokesmen in opposition that they would create such a medal in Government; as such welcomes the Government's review of the creation of medals; welcomes the assurances by the hon. Member for Aldershot, the Minister for International Security Strategy, that he will ask for the issue of an Arctic medal to be looked at again; asks that a campaign medal be created; further notes that the surviving veterans are now in their 80s and 90s; and requests that the question of whether an Arctic medal should be created should be dealt with quickly so that as many of them as possible can receive the medal they deserve.

This motion has been signed by a total of 49 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Angus Robertson22/11/2010MorayScottish National PartyProposed
Peter Bottomley22/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mike Hancock22/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George22/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell22/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders23/11/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Michael Weir23/11/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
John Leech23/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Penny Mordaunt23/11/2010Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Eric Illsley24/11/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Kelvin Hopkins24/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ian Mearns24/11/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop24/11/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Stephen Williams24/11/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Stewart Hosie24/11/2010Dundee EastScottish National PartySigned
Pete Wishart24/11/2010Perth and North PerthshireScottish National PartySigned
Alan Meale24/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson24/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn24/11/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Jim Shannon24/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Eilidh Whiteford25/11/2010Banff and BuchanScottish National PartySigned
Mark Reckless25/11/2010Rochester and StroodConservativeSigned
Angus MacNeil25/11/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
John McDonnell25/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Gordon Marsden25/11/2010Blackpool SouthLabourSigned
Clive Efford25/11/2010ElthamLabourSigned
Charles Kennedy29/11/2010Ross, Skye and LochaberLiberal DemocratSigned
John Thurso29/11/2010Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Jo Swinson29/11/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Jessica Morden29/11/2010Newport EastLabourSigned
Andrew Rosindell30/11/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Hywel Francis30/11/2010AberavonLabourSigned
Mark Williams30/11/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Lindsay Roy30/11/2010GlenrothesLabourSigned
Mary Glindon30/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Marsha Singh01/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell01/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Nicholas Dakin02/12/2010ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Annette Brooke03/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
David Tredinnick06/12/2010BosworthConservativeSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Ian Swales07/12/2010RedcarLiberal DemocratSigned
Malcolm Bruce08/12/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John Pugh20/12/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Graham Stringer10/01/2012Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.