Parliament Website

Electrical Safety And Residual Current Devices

EDM number 1072 in 2010-12, proposed by Robert Halfon on 22/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Housing and Standards.

That this House welcomes the Plug into Safety campaign recently launched by the Electrical Safety Council, the UK's only charity dedicated to electrical safety, to increase awareness and use of residual current devices (RCDs) in domestic properties across the UK; notes that RCDs are safety devices that switch off electricity automatically if a dangerous fault develops; further notes that expert studies by the industry indicate that over 50 per cent of private rented accommodation lacks RCD protection and that if installed RCDs could prevent up to 20 per cent of domestic fires of electrical origin, over 4,000 annually, from starting and avoid the vast majority of deaths, on average one a week, from electrocution and electrical fires; and therefore calls for greater public attention to be given to electrical safety and the key role that RCDs can play.

This motion has been signed by a total of 28 MPs.

Robert Halfon22/11/2010HarlowConservativeProposed
Mark Durkan22/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Andrew George22/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Bob Russell22/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Adrian Sanders23/11/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale24/11/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Michael Connarty24/11/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin24/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Mike Hancock24/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Margaret Ritchie25/11/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell25/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
John Hemming29/11/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Elfyn Llwyd30/11/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon30/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram30/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
David Simpson01/12/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Marsha Singh01/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Annette Brooke03/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Cathy Jamieson07/12/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Gregory Campbell09/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.