Parliament Website

Representation Of Women In Political Life

EDM number 1081 in 2010-12, proposed by Jo Swinson on 23/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House notes that 25 November 2010 is the 30th anniversary of the first public meeting of the 300 Group, which campaigned for more women hon. Members; recalls that at that time there were only 19 female hon. Members in this House; further notes that 30 years later still only one in five hon. Members are women; recognises the importance of equal representation; and urges hon. Members, political parties, the Government and the media to promote and encourage more women to enter political life.

This motion has been signed by a total of 37 MPs.

Jo Swinson23/11/2010East DunbartonshireLiberal DemocratProposed
Lorely Burt23/11/2010SolihullLiberal DemocratSeconded
Julian Huppert23/11/2010CambridgeLiberal DemocratSeconded
Lisa Nandy23/11/2010WiganLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley23/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Alan Meale24/11/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins24/11/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson24/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas24/11/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Jeremy Corbyn24/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Mark Durkan24/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Mike Hancock24/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams24/11/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Jonathan Edwards25/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Angus MacNeil25/11/2010Na h-Eileanan an IarScottish National PartySigned
Keith Vaz25/11/2010Leicester EastLabourSigned
Clive Efford25/11/2010ElthamLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Andrew George25/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Shannon29/11/2010StrangfordDUPSigned
Marsha Singh29/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alan Beith29/11/2010Berwick-upon-TweedLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech29/11/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz30/11/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon30/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Mark Williams30/11/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell01/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin02/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Annette Brooke03/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock06/12/2010Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Naomi Long08/12/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Malcolm Bruce21/12/2010GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.