Parliament Website

Finance Settlement For Local Authorities

EDM number 1088 in 2010-12, proposed by Dave Watts on 24/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Local government.

That this House notes the concern that this year's funding cuts have already had a disproportionately negative impact on more deprived communities and that the forthcoming Local Government Finance Settlement could follow that same pattern; further notes that the abolition of the Working Neighbourhood Fund will hit deprived areas particularly hard and those very same authorities' greater reliance on central Government grants increases their vulnerability to funding cuts if the focus remains on that single source; further notes that the top slicing of the Formula Grant to fund the Government's Council Tax Freeze will move resources away from more deprived areas with relatively low tax bases and less income generating capacity than the more affluent; considers that the achievement of a fair settlement needs to move away from the focus of reductions on formula grant and that mitigations need to be put in place to ensure that all authorities see a comparable reduction in total resources, not just formula grant; and calls on the Government to deliver the promise of the Comprehensive Spending Review to `limit as far as possible the impact of reductions on the most vulnerable in society and on those regions dependent on the public sector'.

This motion has been signed by a total of 31 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Dave Watts24/11/2010St Helens NorthLabourProposed
George Howarth24/11/2010KnowsleyLabourSeconded
Clive Betts24/11/2010Sheffield South EastLabourSeconded
Yvonne Fovargue24/11/2010MakerfieldLabourSeconded
Tony Lloyd24/11/2010Manchester CentralLabourSeconded
Paul Goggins24/11/2010Wythenshawe and Sale EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dobbin24/11/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner25/11/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
John McDonnell25/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Clive Efford25/11/2010ElthamLabourSigned
Ian Mearns29/11/2010GatesheadLabourSigned
Pat Glass29/11/2010North West DurhamLabourSigned
Graham Stringer29/11/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson29/11/2010Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Marsha Singh29/11/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn29/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mary Glindon30/11/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram30/11/2010Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Eric Illsley01/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Frank Field01/12/2010BirkenheadLabourSigned
David Heyes02/12/2010Ashton-under-LyneLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham06/12/2010Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/12/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff06/12/2010Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Louise Ellman07/12/2010Liverpool, RiversideLabourSigned
Geoffrey Robinson10/01/2011Coventry North WestLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/01/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.