Parliament Website

Guantanamo Bay

EDM number 1093 in 2010-12, proposed by Caroline Lucas on 25/11/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Human rights and North America.

That this House notes with regret that President Obama's pledge to close the US Military Detention Centre at Guantnamo Bay by January 2010 is almost one year overdue and little closer to realisation; welcomes gestures by other European States to accommodate and receive innocent prisoners who have been cleared for release to help close the facility; notes with dismay that on 11 January 2011 the detention facility will have been open for nine years and that British resident Shaker Aamer has now been held there without charge or trial for almost the same length of time; urges the Government to step up its action to secure his release without further delay; and further notes the case of Ahmed Belbacha, previously resident in the UK and facing the imminent threat of forced return to his native Algeria where there are fears he will face abuse of his human rights; applauds the lead taken by countries such as Ireland, France, Spain, Germany and Bulgaria, who have accepted prisoners cleared for release from Guantnamo Bay by the US authorities on humanitarian grounds but who cannot return to their country of origin; and urges the Government to take similar measures to accept a number of such cleared prisoners.

This motion has been signed by a total of 30 MPs.

Caroline Lucas25/11/2010Brighton, PavilionGreenProposed
Peter Bottomley29/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Mark Durkan29/11/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jeremy Corbyn29/11/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton30/11/2010GowerLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock30/11/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd30/11/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
John McDonnell30/11/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jonathan Edwards30/11/2010Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSigned
Marsha Singh01/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell06/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Michael Connarty06/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Naomi Long08/12/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
John Hemming13/12/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward15/12/2010Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Simon Wright16/12/2010Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Bob Russell21/12/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer10/01/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Andrew George10/01/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams10/01/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
John Leech10/01/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Brake11/01/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
John Robertson18/01/2011Glasgow North WestLabourSigned
Sheila Gilmore19/01/2011Edinburgh EastLabourSigned
Alan Keen25/01/2011Feltham and HestonLabourSigned
Albert Owen25/01/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy15/02/2011Bristol EastLabourSigned
Frank Doran17/02/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Barry Gardiner05/04/2011Brent NorthLabourSigned
Malcolm Bruce23/05/2011GordonLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.