Parliament Website

Cardiac Surgery In The Nhs

EDM number 1104 in 2010-12, proposed by Chris Ruane on 30/11/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Health services.

That this House welcomes the findings highlighted by the European Association forCardio-Thoracic Surgeons and the Society of Cardiothoracic Surgeons that NHS heart surgery patients in England and Wales have a greater chance of survival and recovery than almost anywhere else in Europe; notes evidence showing that cardiac surgery patients have a mortality rate that is 25 per cent. lower than the European average; further notes that hospital stays for coronary heart bypass surgery in England and Wales are around 10 per cent. shorter than the European average, resulting in a 6.4 million saving for the NHS; and congratulates cardiac surgeons and their teams across the NHS on the findings that cardiac surgery in the NHS consistently delivers above average results.

This motion has been signed by a total of 32 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Chris Ruane30/11/2010Vale of ClwydLabourProposed
Bob Russell30/11/2010ColchesterLiberal DemocratSeconded
Andrew George30/11/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley30/11/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Eric Illsley01/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
John Leech01/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Dennis Skinner01/12/2010BolsoverLabourSeconded
David Simpson01/12/2010Upper BannDUPSigned
Gregory Campbell01/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Martin Caton01/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin02/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper02/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
Alan Meale03/12/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz03/12/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham03/12/2010Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Mike Hancock06/12/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Graham Brady06/12/2010Altrincham and Sale WestConservativeSigned
David Crausby07/12/2010Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Penny Mordaunt07/12/2010Portsmouth NorthConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell08/12/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Ian Lavery08/12/2010WansbeckLabourSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Alasdair McDonnell09/12/2010Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell09/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Michael Connarty09/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd13/12/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
John Hemming13/12/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh20/12/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Grahame Morris18/01/2011EasingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.