Parliament Website

Treatment Of Christians In Iraq

EDM number 1117 in 2010-12, proposed by Edward Leigh on 01/12/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Iraq.

That this House is deeply concerned by the mass exodus of Iraqi Christians, which has decimated much of Iraq's ancient Assyrian-Chaldean community; notes that the Assyrian-Chaldeans make up over 95 per cent. of Iraq's Christians and that this exodus has largely been caused by escalating violence against Christians from fanatical extremists, including the bombing of churches and the assassination of Iraqi Christians; further notes that there has been illegal expropriation of Assyrian-Chaldean land and villages in Dohuk province and Erbil province in northern Iraq; recognises that Iraqi Christians are a major force for moderation, who can act as a significant buffer against the spread of extremism in Iraq; calls on the British and Iraqi governments urgently to encourage and support the creation of a self-governing province in Iraq for the Assyrian-Chaldeans, which is linked to the central government in Baghdad, situated in the Nineveh Plain and consists of the Tel Kaif, Al-Hamdaniya and Al-Shikhan districts and is governed by the Assyrian-Chaldeans and other ethnic groups living in the area, as these lands form part of the ancestral homeland of the Assyrian-Chaldeans and are still heavily populated by them; and urges the UK and Iraqi governments to support financially the reconstruction of the region, to end the political marginalisation of the democratically elected Assyrian-Chaldean representatives in Iraq, to assist the Assyrian-Chaldeans in reclaiming their land and villages in the Dohuk and Erbil provinces, and to financially support internally displaced Assyrian-Chaldeans and the return and settlement of Assyrian-Chaldean refugees.

This motion has been signed by a total of 44 MPs.

Edward Leigh01/12/2010GainsboroughConservativeProposed
Tim Farron01/12/2010Westmorland and LonsdaleLiberal DemocratSeconded
Pamela Nash01/12/2010Airdrie and ShottsLabourSeconded
Andrew George01/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon02/12/2010StrangfordDUPSeconded
Peter Bottomley02/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew Rosindell02/12/2010RomfordConservativeSigned
Adrian Sanders02/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin02/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Annette Brooke03/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Williams03/12/2010CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop06/12/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Paul Flynn06/12/2010Newport WestLabourSigned
Marsha Singh07/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
Paul Murphy07/12/2010TorfaenLabourSigned
Martin Caton07/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
Mark Durkan07/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Therese Coffey07/12/2010Suffolk CoastalConservativeSigned
Stephen Hepburn08/12/2010JarrowLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/12/2010East LondonderryDUPSigned
Elfyn Llwyd09/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSigned
Michael Weir09/12/2010AngusScottish National PartySigned
Tony Baldry09/12/2010BanburyConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds09/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Michael Connarty09/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Naomi Long09/12/2010Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lady Hermon09/12/2010North DownIndependentSigned
Margaret Ritchie09/12/2010South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John McDonnell09/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd13/12/2010Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jeffrey M Donaldson13/12/2010Lagan ValleyDUPSigned
John Hemming13/12/2010Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark13/12/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Graham Stringer15/12/2010Blackley and BroughtonLabourSigned
George Howarth10/01/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
David Morris10/01/2011Morecambe and LunesdaleConservativeSigned
Lindsay Roy19/01/2011GlenrothesLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper20/01/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/01/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Philip Davies04/03/2011ShipleyConservativeSigned
Jimmy Hood07/03/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Joe Benton15/03/2011BootleLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson17/03/2011Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Robert Walter26/04/2011North DorsetConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.