Parliament Website

Large Mortgage Lenders And Small Solicitor Firms

EDM number 1187 in 2010-12, proposed by Mark Durkan on 13/12/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Financial services, Legal profession and Mortgages.

That this House regrets the decision by some larger mortgage lenders to reduce the number of firms on their panel of conveyancing solicitors; notes that this entails removing some firms which have served on such panels for many years; is concerned that small and local firms appear to be the targeted casualties of this change; recognises that this has a direct and adverse impact on the ability of clients to choose which solicitor acts on their behalf; is further concerned that these large mortgage lenders may extend such restrictive conditions on clients in respect of other transactions including paying off a mortgage, transferring equity to family members, changing a mortgage, selling a house or checking deeds; and calls on Ministers to intervene to uphold rights of client choice as well as the professional standing and competitive rights of small and local solicitor firms.

This motion has been signed by a total of 21 MPs.

Mark Durkan13/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartyProposed
Andrew George13/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Peter Bottomley13/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Michael Connarty13/12/2010Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSeconded
Alan Meale14/12/2010MansfieldLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn14/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Adrian Sanders14/12/2010TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton14/12/2010GowerLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin14/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds15/12/2010Belfast NorthDUPSigned
John McDonnell15/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
William McCrea15/12/2010South AntrimDUPSigned
Rosie Cooper16/12/2010West LancashireLabourSigned
John Leech16/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Tom Blenkinsop16/12/2010Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma20/12/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/01/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Margaret Ritchie28/02/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Naomi Long28/02/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Lady Hermon10/03/2011North DownIndependentSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.