Parliament Website

Detention Of Palestinian Children In Israel

EDM number 1195 in 2010-12, proposed by Ian Lavery on 14/12/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Children and families, Courts, International law and Middle East.

That this House notes with grave concern that every year Israel prosecutes an average of 700 Palestinian children from the occupied West Bank in military courts; further notes that children as young as 12 are brought to these courts in shackles and cuffs and denied a fair trial, that most of these children are charged on the basis of confessions under interrogation, that 32 per cent. of all confessions are written in Hebrew,a language they do not understand; further notes that frequently they only meet their lawyers for the first time in court, that there are widespread and persistent allegations of torture and abuse against Palestinian children; further notes that Israel, whilst considering children to be anyone under the age of 18 in its own system, treats Palestinians as adults from the age of 16 in contravention of the International Convention of the Rights of the Child; furthernotes that whilst Israeli settler children in the same area have to see a judge within 24 hours, Palestinians may not see a judge for eight days; believes that this represents a dual legal system based on race and a grave and serious breach of international law; further notes that according to the Israeli human rights group, B'tselem, in Jerusalem, Palestinian children under 12 have been arrested including a five-year old; and calls on the Government to demand immediate action from the Israeli government to bring its behaviour in line with international law.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs, 1 of these signatures have been withdrawn.

Ian Lavery14/12/2010WansbeckLabourProposed
Grahame Morris14/12/2010EasingtonLabourSeconded
Dennis Skinner14/12/2010BolsoverLabourSeconded
Richard Burden14/12/2010Birmingham, NorthfieldLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell14/12/2010Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley14/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSigned
Mark Durkan14/12/2010FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Cryer14/12/2010Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Alan Meale14/12/2010MansfieldLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins14/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan14/12/2010Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne15/12/2010Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSeconded
John McDonnell15/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin15/12/2010Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Andrew George15/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Stephen Williams15/12/2010Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz15/12/2010Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Eric Illsley16/12/2010Barnsley CentralLabourWithdrawn
Marsha Singh16/12/2010Bradford WestLabourSigned
John Leech16/12/2010Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Annette Brooke16/12/2010Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Cathy Jamieson16/12/2010Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
John Pugh20/12/2010SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Virendra Sharma20/12/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Mary Glindon21/12/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson10/01/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Andrew Love10/01/2011EdmontonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas10/01/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Mark Williams10/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd12/01/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Jim McGovern13/01/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Linda Riordan26/01/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham05/12/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.