Parliament Website

Working Group On Seafarers' Access To The Minimum Wage

EDM number 1218 in 2010-12, proposed by Karl Turner on 16/12/2010.
Categorised under the topics of Pay and Shipping.

That this House welcomes the Government's enactment of the previous government's decision to establish a working party to consider, and potentially agree, the legal position on the issue of applying the national minimum wage to non-UK flagged ships trading between UK ports; notes that seafarers are only entitled to the protection of the national minimum wage in UK internal and not territorial waters; further notes the continued employment of foreign national seafarers on rates of pay below the national minimum wage on ships in UK territorial waters; and therefore urges the Government to ensure that all seafarers working on ships trading between United Kingdom ports and in the UK offshore sector are entitled to the national minimum wage.

This motion has been signed by a total of 23 MPs.

Karl Turner16/12/2010Kingston upon Hull EastLabourProposed
John McDonnell16/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn16/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins20/12/2010Luton NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley20/12/2010Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Virendra Sharma20/12/2010Ealing, SouthallLabourSeconded
Katy Clark20/12/2010North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner21/12/2010BolsoverLabourSigned
Andrew George21/12/2010St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock21/12/2010Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mary Glindon21/12/2010North TynesideLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson10/01/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne13/01/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Jim McGovern13/01/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
Frank Doran17/01/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
Kerry McCarthy27/01/2011Bristol EastLabourSigned
Alan Meale01/02/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Stella Creasy01/02/2011WalthamstowLabourSigned
Justin Tomlinson01/02/2011North SwindonConservativeSigned
Alan Johnson07/02/2011Kingston upon Hull West and HessleLabourSigned
David Crausby08/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Joe Benton17/02/2011BootleLabourSigned
Martin Vickers17/02/2011CleethorpesConservativeSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.