Parliament Website

Court Closures (No. 2)

EDM number 1234 in 2010-12, proposed by Elfyn Llwyd on 21/12/2010.
Categorised under the topic of Courts.

That this House is shocked at the decision to close 93 magistrates' courts and 49 county courts; notes that this total of 142 courts amounts to nearly a third of all courts; believes that taking this decision will affect 746 court staff; further believes that the Government consultation on closures was flawed, as it used incorrect data on court utilisation rates, court travel times and back maintenance costs; further notes that the Government has disregarded the comments by Lord Justice Goldring, on behalf of the Lord Chief Justice, Lord Judge, who maintained that a number of courts now threatened with closure should remain open; further believes that the minister has ignored the arguments from many hon. Members, magistrates, judges and the Public and Commercial Services union against court closures; and calls on the Government to reconsider the decision on the proposed closures which will have a devastating impact on the provision of local justice.

This motion has been signed by a total of 42 MPs.

Elfyn Llwyd21/12/2010Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruProposed
John McDonnell21/12/2010Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Jeremy Corbyn21/12/2010Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Wood10/01/2011Batley and SpenLabourSeconded
Caroline Lucas10/01/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSeconded
Jonathan Edwards10/01/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruSeconded
Alan Meale11/01/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Paul Flynn11/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes11/01/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Katy Clark11/01/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram11/01/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Albert Owen12/01/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Yvonne Fovargue12/01/2011MakerfieldLabourSigned
Ian Lavery12/01/2011WansbeckLabourSigned
Tom Blenkinsop12/01/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Mark Williams12/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams12/01/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Jim Dobbin12/01/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Martin Caton12/01/2011GowerLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell12/01/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
George Howarth12/01/2011KnowsleyLabourSigned
Andrew Miller13/01/2011Ellesmere Port and NestonLabourSigned
Alex Cunningham13/01/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Gordon Henderson13/01/2011Sittingbourne and SheppeyConservativeSigned
Jim McGovern13/01/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
John Cryer13/01/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Kate Green13/01/2011Stretford and UrmstonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins17/01/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds19/01/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Chris Ruane21/01/2011Vale of ClwydLabourSigned
Simon Danczuk26/01/2011RochdaleLabourSigned
Bill Esterson26/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Andrew George04/02/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock15/02/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Graeme Morrice15/02/2011LivingstonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/02/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Ian Davidson28/02/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Philip Davies01/03/2011ShipleyConservativeSigned
Tom Harris16/03/2011Glasgow SouthLabourSigned
Linda Riordan14/06/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Tony Cunningham12/09/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Pamela Nash24/11/2011Airdrie and ShottsLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.