Parliament Website

Tax Liability Of Footballers

EDM number 1286 in 2010-12, proposed by Jonathan Edwards on 17/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Sports and Taxation.

That this House expresses deep concern at reports that 55 footballers in the United Kingdom are exploiting tax loopholes to avoid paying the appropriate level of tax on their earnings; notes that estimates of annual UK tax avoidance and evasion range from 42 billion from HM Revenue and Customs to 130 billion from the PCS union; believes that tax avoidance has a negative impact on the community by creating a lack of available funds for better community services and an increased tax burden for those who are paying their way legitimately; further notes that these footballers are heroes to many but are paid salaries and have additional earnings which are outside the realms of imagination for the overwhelming majority of their devoted fans and are disappointed that oft-expressed concern for fans is not replicated by their actions; expresses further concern that, according to a recent Christian Aid report, 25 UK football clubs are owned offshore; and calls on the UK Government to block this and other tax loopholes which are exploited by mega-rich individuals and companies which are against the principles of fair play and tax justice and to support non-profit football supporters groups in their aims to ensure community ownership of football clubs and financial transparency in the football business world.

This motion has been signed by a total of 34 MPs.

Jonathan Edwards17/01/2011Carmarthen East and DinefwrPlaid CymruProposed
Elfyn Llwyd17/01/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Hywel Williams17/01/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSeconded
John McDonnell17/01/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley17/01/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Jim Sheridan18/01/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSeconded
Martin Caton18/01/2011GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Williams18/01/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
John Leech18/01/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock18/01/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Mark Durkan18/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/01/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Alan Meale18/01/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Jim Shannon18/01/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Adrian Sanders18/01/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Naomi Long19/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Tom Blenkinsop19/01/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourSigned
Paul Flynn19/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell19/01/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell19/01/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Tony Lloyd19/01/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kate Hoey19/01/2011VauxhallLabourSigned
Bob Russell20/01/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell20/01/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Dan Rogerson20/01/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John Pugh25/01/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
John Cryer25/01/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/01/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Mike Gapes26/01/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Nicholas Dakin26/01/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Ian Davidson27/01/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/01/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Michael Connarty01/02/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.