Parliament Website

30th Anniversary Of The New Cross Fire

EDM number 1289 in 2010-12, proposed by Joan Ruddock on 17/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Ethnic groups, Fire services and Police.

That this House records the tragic events of 18 January 1981 when a fire broke out at a birthday party resulting in the deaths of 14 young black people: Patrick Cummings, Andrew Gooding, Peter Campbell, Gerry Paul Francis, Steve Collins, Patricia Johnson, Rosaline Henry, Lloyd Hall, Humphrey Geoffrey Brown, Owen Thompson, Yvonne Ruddock, Glenton Powell, Paul Ruddock and Anthony Berbeck; regrets that no condolences were sent from Parliament or the Prime Minister; notes that the prevailing racist attitudes of the times resulted in an inadequatepolice investigation, an inconclusive coroner's hearing and a lack of respect and empathy for the bereaved families and injured survivors; and further regrets that 20 years later the re-investigation by the Metropolitan Police and the reopened inquest did not result in a conclusive verdict, but believes lessons learned contributed to greatly improved community relations in Lewisham and London as a whole and a determination that never again wouldthe black community suffer such discrimination.

This motion has been signed by a total of 54 MPs.

Joan Ruddock17/01/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourProposed
Heidi Alexander17/01/2011Lewisham EastLabourSeconded
Jim Dowd17/01/2011Lewisham West and PengeLabourSeconded
Chuka Umunna17/01/2011StreathamLabourSeconded
David Lammy17/01/2011TottenhamLabourSeconded
Clive Efford17/01/2011ElthamLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan17/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alex Cunningham17/01/2011Stockton NorthLabourSigned
Yasmin Qureshi17/01/2011Bolton South EastLabourSigned
John Hemming17/01/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Walley17/01/2011Stoke-on-Trent NorthLabourSigned
John Thurso17/01/2011Caithness, Sutherland and Easter RossLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Gapes17/01/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn17/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Frank Doran17/01/2011Aberdeen NorthLabourSigned
John Mann17/01/2011BassetlawLabourSigned
Glenda Jackson17/01/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSigned
Kate Hoey17/01/2011VauxhallLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner17/01/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Nick Raynsford17/01/2011Greenwich and WoolwichLabourSigned
Hywel Francis18/01/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Mary Glindon18/01/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Kevin Barron18/01/2011Rother ValleyLabourSigned
Mike Hancock18/01/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Cunningham18/01/2011WorkingtonLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn18/01/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Martin Caton18/01/2011GowerLabourSigned
Paul Murphy18/01/2011TorfaenLabourSigned
Alan Meale18/01/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Mark Lazarowicz18/01/2011Edinburgh North and LeithLabourSigned
John Cryer18/01/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Valerie Vaz19/01/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Bill Esterson19/01/2011Sefton CentralLabourSigned
Teresa Pearce19/01/2011Erith and ThamesmeadLabourSigned
Anne Begg19/01/2011Aberdeen SouthLabourSigned
Don Foster19/01/2011BathLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds19/01/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Jim Dobbin19/01/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
John McDonnell19/01/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Barry Sheerman19/01/2011HuddersfieldLabourSigned
Frank Field19/01/2011BirkenheadLabourSigned
David Simpson20/01/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins20/01/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Andrew Love24/01/2011EdmontonLabourSigned
Tom Brake24/01/2011Carshalton and WallingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Albert Owen25/01/2011Ynys MLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma25/01/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Katy Clark25/01/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff25/01/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Lady Hermon26/01/2011North DownIndependentSigned
Siobhain McDonagh31/01/2011Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Michael Connarty01/02/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Grahame Morris15/02/2011EasingtonLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.