Parliament Website

Fairtrade Chocolate

EDM number 1342 in 2010-12, proposed by Keith Vaz on 25/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Food, International development and International trade.

That this House notes with concern the exploitative child labour and trafficking of children that take place in the cocoa industry; supports the role of Fairtrade cocoa as traceable to the source farm and method that ensures children have not been trafficked; recognises the petition signed by 150 children at Judgemeadow Community College in Leicester East calling for an end to the trafficking of children for cocoa farming and for chocolate manufacturers and cocoa traders to abide by Stop the Traffik's Chocolate Pledge; urges the Government to encourage manufacturers to provide full transparency in cocoa supply and to adopt a code of conduct that prevents the use of child labour and trafficked children; and calls on the Government to encourage supermarkets to purchase solely Fairtrade chocolate.

This motion has been signed by a total of 46 MPs.

Keith Vaz25/01/2011Leicester EastLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn25/01/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley25/01/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George25/01/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Jim Shannon26/01/2011StrangfordDUPSeconded
John Leech26/01/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSeconded
Martin Caton26/01/2011GowerLabourSigned
Stephen Williams26/01/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned
Ronnie Campbell26/01/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
John McDonnell26/01/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Naomi Long26/01/2011Belfast EastAllianceSigned
Tony Lloyd26/01/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Adrian Sanders27/01/2011TorbayLiberal DemocratSigned
Ian Davidson27/01/2011Glasgow South WestLabourSigned
Mark Williams27/01/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Mike Hancock31/01/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Katy Clark31/01/2011North Ayrshire and ArranLabourSigned
John Hemming31/01/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Paul Flynn31/01/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Mark Durkan31/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Alun Michael31/01/2011Cardiff South and PenarthLabourSigned
Alan Meale31/01/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
William McCrea31/01/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Kelvin Hopkins31/01/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh31/01/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Jim Dobbin31/01/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Marsha Singh01/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Jim Sheridan02/02/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
David Simpson02/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Gerald Kaufman02/02/2011Manchester, GortonLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas02/02/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Hywel Francis02/02/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell03/02/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Annette Brooke03/02/2011Mid Dorset and North PooleLiberal DemocratSigned
Valerie Vaz07/02/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Nigel Dodds10/02/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Linda Riordan10/02/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson16/02/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Rosie Cooper17/02/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Michael Connarty28/02/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Jimmy Hood10/10/2011Lanark and Hamilton EastLabourSigned
Siobhain McDonagh15/11/2011Mitcham and MordenLabourSigned
Simon Wright27/02/2012Norwich SouthLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.