Parliament Website

College Of Social Work

EDM number 1362 in 2010-12, proposed by Graham Stuart on 27/01/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Community care and Health staff and professions.

That this House recognises the vital role of social work in protecting, helping and empowering children and adults in vulnerable situations at critical times in their lives; notes the 2009 Social Work Taskforce recommendation for the creation of an independent national college of social work, developed and led by social workers; supports the establishment of a College of Social Work which is independent of Government, led by and accountable to social workers and strong enough to influence the development of the profession; and therefore calls on the Government to support the establishment of such a college, without public subsidy, delivering a truly independent voice for the social work profession.

This motion has been signed by a total of 40 MPs.

Graham Stuart27/01/2011Beverley and HoldernessConservativeProposed
Glenda Jackson31/01/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley31/01/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Paul Flynn31/01/2011Newport WestLabourSeconded
Alan Meale31/01/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Mark Durkan31/01/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Jim Shannon01/02/2011StrangfordDUPSigned
Marsha Singh01/02/2011Bradford WestLabourSigned
Mike Gapes01/02/2011Ilford SouthLabourSigned
Frank Dobson02/02/2011Holborn and St PancrasLabourSigned
William McCrea02/02/2011South AntrimDUPSigned
Margaret Ritchie02/02/2011South DownSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
David Simpson02/02/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn02/02/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Andrew George03/02/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSigned
Cathy Jamieson03/02/2011Kilmarnock and LoudounLabourSigned
Nick Smith03/02/2011Blaenau GwentLabourSigned
Martin Vickers03/02/2011CleethorpesConservativeSigned
Craig Whittaker03/02/2011Calder ValleyConservativeSigned
Tony Lloyd04/02/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins04/02/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Ronnie Campbell04/02/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson04/02/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Joan Ruddock07/02/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham07/02/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Hywel Williams07/02/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
David Amess09/02/2011Southend WestConservativeSigned
Nigel Dodds10/02/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
David Crausby10/02/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn10/02/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell10/02/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Julian Huppert11/02/2011CambridgeLiberal DemocratSigned
David Ward15/02/2011Bradford EastLiberal DemocratSigned
Jenny Chapman16/02/2011DarlingtonLabourSigned
Rosie Cooper17/02/2011West LancashireLabourSigned
Mary Glindon02/03/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Gregory Campbell08/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSigned
Mark Williams08/03/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
John Cryer23/03/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.