Parliament Website

Cluster Munitions And Diego Garcia

EDM number 1478 in 2010-12, proposed by John McDonnell on 17/02/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Defence equipment and procurement and Overseas territories.

That this House welcomes the international treaty to ban the use, manufacture, sale and storage of cluster munitions that came into force on 1August 2010; is concerned that the American base on Diego Garcia, the largest outside the United States, could continue to be used for the storage of these munitions beyond 2013 when all such munitions, under the treaty, will not be allowed on any British soil; and calls on the Government not to allow the United States' to use or store any cluster munitions on Diego Garcia itself, nor to allow any United States ships carrying such munitions access to the island and further to arrange international arms inspectors to check and to confirm that all such munitions have been removed from Diego Garcia.

This motion has been signed by a total of 33 MPs.

John McDonnell17/02/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourProposed
Jeremy Corbyn17/02/2011Islington NorthLabourSeconded
Mike Hancock28/02/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Glenda Jackson28/02/2011Hampstead and KilburnLabourSeconded
Elfyn Llwyd28/02/2011Dwyfor MeirionnyddPlaid CymruSeconded
Mark Durkan28/02/2011FoyleSocial Democratic and Labour PartySeconded
Alan Meale28/02/2011MansfieldLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner01/03/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins01/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin01/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kate Hoey02/03/2011VauxhallLabourSigned
Tony Lloyd02/03/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Caroline Lucas02/03/2011Brighton, PavilionGreenSigned
Ronnie Campbell02/03/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSigned
Jim Cunningham02/03/2011Coventry SouthLabourSigned
Paul Flynn02/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Virendra Sharma03/03/2011Ealing, SouthallLabourSigned
Michael Connarty07/03/2011Linlithgow and East FalkirkLabourSigned
John Hemming07/03/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Martin Caton08/03/2011GowerLabourSigned
John Leech08/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan09/03/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
George Mudie10/03/2011Leeds EastLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell17/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Simon Hughes05/04/2011Bermondsey and Old SouthwarkLiberal DemocratSigned
Hywel Williams11/05/2011ArfonPlaid CymruSigned
Mark Williams12/05/2011CeredigionLiberal DemocratSigned
Roger Godsiff16/05/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
Steve Rotheram16/05/2011Liverpool, WaltonLabourSigned
Joan Ruddock17/05/2011Lewisham, DeptfordLabourSigned
Roger Williams18/05/2011Brecon and RadnorshireLiberal DemocratSigned
Heidi Alexander07/06/2011Lewisham EastLabourSigned
Stephen Williams27/06/2011Bristol WestLiberal DemocratSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.