Parliament Website

Closure Of Tetley's Leeds Brewery

EDM number 1586 in 2010-12, proposed by Greg Mulholland on 14/03/2011.
Categorised under the topics of Cultural heritage and Employment.

That this House considers the decision to close the Tetley brewery in Leeds to be even more disgraceful following the publication of the Carlsberg Group's financial accounts that show increases in the company's operating margins to 17.1 per cent., an increase in operating profit of nine per cent., and a 43 per cent. rise in share dividend payout in 2010; notes that by closing the brewery and ending 189 years of brewing history, Carlsberg UK will end Tetley's as a Leeds-based beer and will therefore destroy Tetley's as a credible brand; further notes that Carlsberg UK will not itself be brewing Tetley's any longer and believes that this decision is being taken simply to make yet more money for Carlsberg including by realising the high value of the land for development; further believes that if Carlsberg were committed to brewing great beer and to Tetley's they would have invested some of this money in a new purpose-built site in the Leeds area outside of the city centre, to enable Tetley's to continue to be brewed in Leeds and to continue as a famous Leeds beer; and calls on the people of Leeds and beer lovers everywhere to show how they feel about Carlsberg UK's betrayal of Tetley's and Leeds by boycotting Carlsberg products.

This motion has been signed by a total of 18 MPs.

Greg Mulholland14/03/2011Leeds North WestLiberal DemocratProposed
Mike Hancock14/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSeconded
Alan Meale15/03/2011MansfieldLabourSeconded
Martin Caton15/03/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Ronnie Campbell15/03/2011Blyth ValleyLabourSeconded
Peter Bottomley15/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
John Leech15/03/2011Manchester, WithingtonLiberal DemocratSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Jim Dobbin16/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSigned
Kelvin Hopkins18/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
John Pugh21/03/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Tony Lloyd21/03/2011Manchester CentralLabourSigned
Bob Russell22/03/2011ColchesterLiberal DemocratSigned
John Hemming22/03/2011Birmingham, YardleyLiberal DemocratSigned
Dan Rogerson22/03/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Sandra Osborne29/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.