Parliament Website

Dr Ashok Kumar

EDM number 1603 in 2010-12, proposed by Tom Blenkinsop on 15/03/2011.
Categorised under the topic of Members of Parliament.

That this House remembers with great respect the memory of the late Dr Ashok Kumar, formerly the Member of Parliament for Middlesbrough South and East Cleveland; notes that 15 March 2011 was the first anniversary of his untimely passing; recalls his unflinching devotion to his constituents and the North East Region as a whole; remembers him as a man motivated by a strong sense of duty and public service, who continues to be missed in Parliament and throughout Teesside; fondly remembers the warmth he radiated to those he met; notes his achievements in breaking down barriers and prejudices in being the first Asian man to be elected in a predominantly white constituency; recognises his great academic and vocational achievements in science and engineering; further recognises his commitment to fighting to secure a future for steelmaking on Teesside; further notes with sadness that he did not live to see the recent announcement that Teesside Cast Products has been saved; and wishes his family and those who knew him wellbest wishes.

This motion has been signed by a total of 35 MPs.

Tom Blenkinsop15/03/2011Middlesbrough South and East ClevelandLabourProposed
Peter Bottomley15/03/2011Worthing WestConservativeSeconded
Andrew George15/03/2011St IvesLiberal DemocratSeconded
Gregory Campbell16/03/2011East LondonderryDUPSeconded
Jim Dobbin16/03/2011Heywood and MiddletonLabourSeconded
Martin Caton16/03/2011GowerLabourSeconded
Kelvin Hopkins16/03/2011Luton NorthLabourSigned
Jeremy Corbyn16/03/2011Islington NorthLabourSigned
Lorely Burt16/03/2011SolihullLiberal DemocratSigned
Linda Riordan16/03/2011HalifaxLabourSigned
Mike Hancock17/03/2011Portsmouth SouthLiberal DemocratSigned
Hilary Benn17/03/2011Leeds CentralLabourSigned
Keith Vaz17/03/2011Leicester EastLabourSigned
John Pugh21/03/2011SouthportLiberal DemocratSigned
Andrew Rosindell21/03/2011RomfordConservativeSigned
Valerie Vaz21/03/2011Walsall SouthLabourSigned
Mary Glindon22/03/2011North TynesideLabourSigned
Jim McGovern22/03/2011Dundee WestLabourSigned
David Simpson22/03/2011Upper BannDUPSigned
Jim Sheridan23/03/2011Paisley and Renfrewshire NorthLabourSigned
John McDonnell23/03/2011Hayes and HarlingtonLabourSigned
Hywel Francis23/03/2011AberavonLabourSigned
Dennis Skinner24/03/2011BolsoverLabourSigned
Julian Lewis24/03/2011New Forest EastConservativeSigned
Alasdair McDonnell24/03/2011Belfast SouthSocial Democratic and Labour PartySigned
Nicholas Dakin28/03/2011ScunthorpeLabourSigned
Paul Flynn28/03/2011Newport WestLabourSigned
Sandra Osborne29/03/2011Ayr, Carrick and CumnockLabourSigned
Roger Godsiff29/03/2011Birmingham, Hall GreenLabourSigned
David Crausby30/03/2011Bolton North EastLabourSigned
John Cryer30/03/2011Leyton and WansteadLabourSigned
Dan Rogerson30/03/2011North CornwallLiberal DemocratSigned
Nigel Dodds31/03/2011Belfast NorthDUPSigned
Stephen Hepburn27/04/2011JarrowLabourSigned
Iain Wright27/04/2011HartlepoolLabourSigned

Download raw data as csv or xml.